Chinese culture… Why is it so appealing?

I am in Shenzhen now, on my way to Belgium. I haven’t been back to my country for more than 2 years. In the 6 years I have been living in China, I only went back 2 times, each time only 2 weeks. After 2 weeks I really start to miss China again. Now, I will go back for almost 3 months, because I want to spend more time with my family and I want to see if I will still miss China that much.

I don’t really know why this culture has such an attraction on me, but I feel I am not done here. I might be done with the town I live in: Yangshuo, because it is too touristy now, but I want to experience living in other places in China. To me, I guess China is still mysterious. It takes many years to know its history, to explore its beautiful nature, to know the language,… Every aspect takes you many years to finally know and that is a challenge I like to take!

I initially came to China to study martial arts and it would be only for 1 year. Now, 6 years later, I feel I still know only the basics of tai chi, so I want to learn from other masters and I want to learn it in Chinese now. I feel that, if they explain it to me in English the essence of Tai Chi is lost. It is hard to explain traditional Chinese medicine and Daoism (closely related to Tai Chi) in English words, half of it is lost because English doesn’t have a direct translation for it and also because our Western mind can’t always grasp it.

My Chinese journey continues to get to know more about this ancient mystery, about this Land in the Middle!! And my quest is to, once I unravel more of it, to teach people in the West this ancient knowledge, so it won’t get lost and we can all benefit from it.

Leave a Reply

