Challenge yourself

On 17 September we did an Elite Challenge in Dapeng Shenzhen. We – my husband, I and another team member – went to Dapeng on Saturday evening. At 5am on Sunday, 17 September we got up and went to the starting point.

At 7am, we started with kayaking and swimming. My husband and I kayaked and our other team member had to swim. We had to get something and bring it back. We were the first to arrive back! A great victory at the beginning, but nothing compared to what we had to do next.

The other activity was to run 7km with 5kg on our shoulders. We were walking the way, because the most challenging would be the trail into the mountains and we wanted to conserve our energy.

The trail in the mountains WAS the most challenging! It was more than 33 degrees and we ran out of water after 1 hour. The trail was 13km, but because we were so thirsty, we moved quite slowly. After 3 hours, we finally found mountain water. It was the tastiest we ever had! We were drinking, filling our bags and felt really good. You can’t describe in words how real thirst feels like and how heavenly it is to have water. WATER IS really LIFE!

After only half an hour, though, we ran out of water again and felt really thirsty again. The trail was long, the sun was just too bright and hot!

When we finally got out of the mountains after about 7 hours, there was a checkpoint where they gave us water and food. I drank another liter and ate some food. Then, we had to run another 8km, but we were all tired and just walked fast while keep on drinking water.

At last, we had to do some ‘fun’ activities, like climbing over a wall and crawl under barbwire, but we were so tired, we couldn’t really enjoy that. We finally finished in less than 11 hours.

We got a medal and also our pride to have finished it. It was a real challenge, but overall I enjoyed it and want to do this more in the future.

We always have to keep on improving ourselves. With this challenge I know what my body is capable of, but also where my weakness still is, so I can train myself to keep on improving.

With this article I just want to tell everyone that everyone can do it! 2 years ago, I couldn’t even run 5km. Now, I run marathons and do challenges like this. So, you can shape yourself in whatever you want to become!

Leave a Reply

